Queensland Business Review (QBR) is it $99 or $199 ?

October 25th, 2008

qbr.jpg

On the 6th of September I got an offer in the mail to sign up for the Queensland Business Review. It was a good offer - $99 for a year. I wanted to sign up on the spot.

I went to the web site, tried to buy, and found out that there was a problem. It wasn’t $99 as stated on the simulated sticky note, it was $199, a lot more than the offer stated.

Being a fair and reasonable person, I emailed Amelia at ACP Magazines and the contact at QBR to find out what the story was. Several weeks later I haven’t heard anything. So what’s the story QBR? Did someone stuff-up or what?

Would you advertise in a publication with this sort of service, and attention to detail? Not me. We all make mistakes, but it’s a good idea to admit them.

Sphere: Related Content

Categories: Marketing | 3 Comments

Spanish Free Lottery Scam - Be Warned - Telstra Mailing List?

October 22nd, 2008

Spanish Free Lottery Scam

Yesterday my aged (82), Mother received a letter from an outfit in Madrid, Spain, about a lottery. You can see the letter and application form here.

There are two scary things about this scam. Firstly it looks like an identity theft ruse as to claim the prize you have to give them lots of personal details including bank account, occupation and passport details - in fact enough to clear out most bank accounts or try to get replacement credit cards.

The second scary thing is that the name these people used on the letter is wrong.

In fact it is the same wrong name and salutation that Telstra, Australia’s leading telephone carrier, uses on their normal business correspondence with my Mother.

What I suspect has happened is that Telstra’s mailing list has been stolen by a staff member of an outsourced bill mailing company somewhere on the sub-continent. If Telstra are smart they would have seeded their list to make sure this sort of thing doesn’t happen.
Either that, or Telstra use the same mailing list “cleaning” firm that these scammers use. Either way it’s very, very concerning.

I’ll be writing to Telstra Corporate Affairs and the Queensland Department of Fair Trading tomorrow.

Has anyone else out there received similar mailings? There seems to be quite a lot of it going around.

Sphere: Related Content

Categories: Marketing | 1 Comment

“All Your Domains are Belong to Us” - domain scam

October 15th, 2008

all your domains are belong to usHave you recently received an e-mail like this (Chinglish unedited) …

Dear Sir/Mad

On 15th Oct. Moffex Corporation sent us an application , they trying to register “yourdomainname” as domain name and Internet Brand. They want to use this name to promote them in the internet and do the promotion Google and Baidu and other search engins. But after auditing we found this name been used by your company . So we sent you email .

We only can keep the domain names safe in our auditing time , once over this period , we should accept their registration , So, please ask your It manager or responsible person to contact me as soon as possible .

I’m looking forward to hearing from you .

Glen
Tel: +86-0513-8011 8538
Fax:+86-0513-8011 8539
Email: Glen@mordenwork.cn
website: www.mordenwork.com.cn

===========================

I believe this is yet another scam or deception that tries to get people to register the .cn equivalent of their .com.au or .com domain name. There’s another blog post here that explains what’s going on.

The e-mail isn’t very clear about this and an unwary person may think they are about to lose their existing domain name to the mentioned Moffex Corporation. They are not, this is just a sales pitch from a .cn domain registrar trying to get people to buy their.cn domains through them.

Has anyone else received these e-mails?

Sphere: Related Content

Categories: Marketing | 13 Comments